top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnne-Catherine Leblanc

A catastrophe

Updated: May 14, 2021

On April 19th, my computer shut down as I was saving and my TvPaint file got corrupted. My last backup was on April 2nd, so I lost almost all the progress I made during the Easter holiday (some of it got restored by TvPaint Developpement).


The first thing I did was sending a request for technical support to TvPaint Developpement. I quickly got a reply, I sent them my corrupt file and today I got what they were able to salvage back. They were not able to save everything, but I am grateful for what I got back.


I filed an extension request and it got approved, giving me an extra week to be able to catch up on all the animation I was unable to retrieve.


Luckily for me, I was getting ready to update my animatic the hour before my computer crashed, so I have got a good amount of clean/colored animation exported. I am worried about the possible quality loss of not having the original file anymore, but I have to do what I can with what I have.


However, not all animations were usable as-is for further progress. Not all of them had their background, as a result, some animations were on top of a storyboard image. My first thought was retracing everything, but that would obviously take way too much time, even with my extension. Then, I got the idea of keying out the storyboard images on After Effects, and it worked! It lost a bit of its quality, but I managed to make it usable!



Unfortunately, any animation that overlapped the time code will have to be redrawn a bit. (example: see picture below)



Sadly, some animation I had finished drawing is now forever lost, as I forgot to export them, and will have to be redone from the rough.



May this scene in particular rest in peace. The head tilt made the hairline difficult to place properly and I do not look forward to animating/cleaning it again.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page